CoverGirl Eyeshadow Primer

Best EyeShadow Primers

CoverGirl Eyeshadow Primer

CoverGirl
Natacha
US
12 reviews
overall rating : 8.2
Natacha
US

CoverGirl Eyeshadow Primer

overall rating : 8.2

DESCRIPTION

Introduction

 

Ever look at your eye makeup at the end of the night and think, "what happened?" What was once perfectly-blended eyeshadow has faded into an abyss of non-distinctive color, not to mention the barrage of creases that have caused your precise cat eye (which you undoubtedly worked so hard on), to smudge. The answer to all of your smudged-up eye makeup woes lies in one product: primer—eye primer, that is. Just like a face primer creates the ideal base for the rest of your face makeup to stick on to, an eyeshadow primer targets the eye area and makes whatever you put on top more vibrant. 

 

Whether you're sporting a bold look or going more au naturel, using a CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow primer specifically formulated for the eye is key and will work to keep your eyeshadow and liner on point all day. 

FAQ

CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow Primer gives you all-day, crease-proof shadow security. Prep your lids to maximize the wear and intensity of your shadow. This quick-to-dry eyeshadow primer pairs perfectly with the TruNaked eyeshadow palettes.

Isododecane, Aqua/Water/Eau, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Vp/Hexadecene Copolymer, Quaternium-90 Bentonite, Microcristallina Cera/Microcrystalline Wax/Cire Microcrystalline, Cera Alba/Beeswax/Cire D'Abeille, Copernicia Cerifera Cera/Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax/Cire De Carnauba, Polyethylene, Glyceryl Rosinate, Paraffin, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Phenoxyethanol, Aminomethyl Propanediol, Propylene Carbonate, Butylene Glycol, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Synthetic Wax, Sorbitol, [May Contain/Peut Contenir/+/-: Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499)].

Everyone can and should use eye primer! They work for all skin types, tones and textures.

Primer creates a base for the eyelids, absorbing excess oil and allowing for an even surface to apply makeup. Without primer, greasy eyelids can cause eyeshadows to get that “creased” effect throughout the day, have patchy and uneven application or even disappear entirely in a matter of hours. Also, just like lips, eyelids often have a slight natural pigment or tone to them that can make it difficult for certain shadow colors to pop. CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow Primers serve as clean canvases that allow any and all shadow colors to stand out.

LEAVE A REVIEW

REVIEWS (12)

Remy Sharp
TinaTue Feb 23 2021
TinaTue Feb 23 2021

 I had a lot of expectations, unfortunately product was dry not sure if it was too old. I think it has to be a good product, but I had no luck with the one I received.
 

Remy Sharp
Katrin BerTue Feb 23 2021
Katrin BerTue Feb 23 2021

Waste of money. Product stays very sticky/tacky even if allowed to dry. If you have a hooded eye it sticks together. When applying eye shadow it clumps in one spot and you can't apply it smoothly or evenly. Plus it's not returnable.
 

Remy Sharp
Jocelyn R. MastSun May 17 2020
Jocelyn R. MastSun May 17 2020
I have used many eyeshadow primers, both high end and drugstore and this covergirl is the best on the market. I love it. At first I wondered if it was too strong because it felt like it was more difficult to blend my eyeshadow but after a few days of use, I am able to blend perfectly.
 
 
Remy Sharp
AWSun May 17 2020
AWSun May 17 2020
I've ordered this eye shadow quad several times now. In the past I received the original version, which was fantastic and offered a decent amount of product for the cost. Sadly the new version barely has any product. It's more like sample sizes. The application brush is now unnecessarily large, which doesn't make sense given the now smaller eye shadow sizes. I will use these up, since I like the product, but will be on the look out for a replacement that offers similar quality but delivers more bang for my buck.
 
Remy Sharp
BriaSun May 17 2020
BriaSun May 17 2020
I have oily skin so an eyelid primer is a must to keep my eyeshadow from creasing. I used to use Urban Decay, but had a hard time paying the $25+- for it. I found this Covergirl option when internet searching for a more affordable, yet effective, alternative and it’s been great! I would even say it’s been more effective than UD at keeping my eyeshadow creaseless for longer. And at less than half the price of what I was paying before. (Pictured is my eyeshadow after 12 hours of wear - no oiliness or creases in sight!)
 
 

LEAVE A REVIEW


CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow Primer and Why You Need One

CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow primer is formulated to extend the life of your eye makeup while enhancing the colors applied on top. It’s an incredibly necessary product, but is often one of the most overlooked items to add to your makeup routine. It’s best to apply after your skincare, but before your eye makeup." Eye primers generally come in a cream-like formula that melts away on your eyelid upon blending. And while some may use concealer in place of an eye primer, it tends to not be as effective for longevity.

The Benefits of Using CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow Primer

• Prevents eyeshadow from smudging and creasing: If you have naturally oily eyelids, your eyeshadow may be prone to smudging throughout the day. This primer, however, acts as a barrier between the natural oils on your eyes and your eye makeup. 

 

• Makes eyeshadow application even: "Those with dry eyelids tend to struggle with even application of their eye makeup as well as the accentuation of fine lines. Adding eyeshadow powder (a naturally dry product) on top of already-dry skin can look aging, especially if you are working with anything even slightly shimmery.

 

• Grips eyeshadow: Applying eyeshadow to dry skin can be a frustrating feat because the powder has nothing to stick on to. It also gives you an even base for the shadow to apply evenly on.

 

• Accentuates true eyeshadow color: Unlike using concealer as an eyeshadow primer—which can interfere with the tones of your eye makeup and make the pigment appear dull—a CoverGirl Lid Lock Up eyeshadow primer will even out the tone of your eyelids while staying true to the eyeshadow color.

Is CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow Primer Necessary?

There are some steps in a makeup routine that get the green light to nix, but primer isn't one of them. Eyeshadow primer is pretty necessary if you are looking for your eye makeup to last more than a mere few hours. It extends the life of your hard work so you can take your look from morning to night, and not have to worry about faded eyeliner flicks or eyeshadow creasing. 

My Experience

I hardly ever write reviews. This product is amazing! I have used dozens of different eyelid primers even from high-end makeup companies and none have worked this well. It actually keeps my eyeshadow on all day without creasing and my makeup has never looked better. I have very sensitive skin and most leave scaly patches on my eyes or don't hold the makeup very long. I also have very oily eyelids and I've never found a product that works as well as this does. I'm so happy to finally have an eyelid primer that works for me. I even went outside in the hot and humid Wisconsin weather and was sweating and it stayed in place! So if you have sensitive skin and/or oily lids, give this a try! Please don't ever stop making this product.

How to Apply CoverGirl Lid Lock Up Eyeshadow Primer

• After washing your hands, use a mustard seed-sized amount of product and blend over the entire eye area using your ring finger.

 

• If you're going to be wearing eyeshadow or eyeliner under the eye, add a bit of primer under the eye as well—this will ensure the product doesn’t melt and fall downwards throughout the day.

 

• Once the primer is well-blended and evenly applied, apply your eye makeup directly on top of the primer. 

 

• After finishing your eye makeup, take a finishing powder and lightly sweep it over any exposed primer left untouched by eyeshadow. 

 

See Other Eyeshadow Primers